← All guides

Matter versions explained: what 1.4, 1.5 and 1.6 added, and which version each platform supports

The newest Matter release is Matter 1.6, announced by the Connectivity Standards Alliance (CSA) on 2026-06-17; the CSA's specification download page also lists Matter 1.6.1 documents, with no date shown. SmartThings (Samsung, 2026-10-06) and Home Assistant (Matter Server app 9.1.0) say they support Matter 1.6, Amazon says Echo devices support Matter 1.5, and Apple and Google don't publish a Matter version number for their platforms. A version number on its own doesn't tell you whether your device type works, so check the device type before you buy.

Which Matter version does each platform support?

Platforms name Matter versions differently — some publish a number, some don't, and some list device types instead.

PlatformNewest Matter version it namesWhat its own pages saySource
Apple HomeNot statedApple doesn't publish a Matter version for the Home app. Its developer documents ask makers to certify with the Matter 1.4.2 SDK and, from iOS 26, turn on Adaptive Lighting by default for lights that support Matter 1.4 and laterApple developer documents (2025-09-16, 2025-10-07)
Google HomeNot statedGoogle doesn't publish a Matter version for Google Home. Its developer table of supported device types lists types from Matter 1.0, 1.2 and 1.3 onlyGoogle Home Developers (updated 2026-10-08)
Amazon Alexa1.5Echo devices support the Matter 1.5 SDK, "enabling support for a subset of Matter 1.5 and lower device types" (added March 2026; 1.4 came in August 2025). Works with Alexa products must support Matter 1.5 or lowerAmazon developer docs
SmartThings1.6Samsung says it added support for Matter 1.6, with four new device categories: energy meters, closures, irrigation devices and soil sensorsSamsung Newsroom (2026-10-06)
Home Assistant1.6.0The Matter Server app 9.0 moved to matter.js and the Matter 1.5.1 specification (2026-06-23); the app's 9.1.0 changelog says "Supports Matter 1.6.0"Home Assistant blog and Matter Server app changelog (9.1.0 committed 2026-07-15)

Apple Home

Apple's developer page says iOS 16.1 and later includes Matter support. Apple support page 102135 (published 2026-05-07) lists the Matter accessory types the Home app supports: air conditioners, bridges, lights, locks, outlets, switches, thermostats, blinds and shades, and sensors (motion, ambient light, contact, temperature, and humidity). The same page says iPhones on iOS 18 or later can add and control Matter accessories without a home hub. Apple's best-practices document for device makers (Developer Preview 1.5, 2025-10-07) asks makers to use the Matter SDK certified with the Matter 1.4.2 specification, and its Adaptive Lighting requirements for makers (2025-09-16) say Adaptive Lighting over Matter is on by default in iOS 26 and later for lights that support Matter 1.4 and later. No Apple page we checked names a Matter version for the Home app, so Apple's support is best judged by iOS version and device type.

Google Home

Google's help page says Matter 1.2 added device types and lists what Google Home added with Matter 1.2 support: refrigerators, room air conditioners, dishwashers, robot vacuums with mopping capabilities, smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, air quality sensors, fans, air purifiers, and garage door openers. Google's developer table (updated 2026-10-08) gives a Matter Spec column for each device type, and every listed type is from 1.0, 1.2 or 1.3. No Google page we checked names a Matter version for Google Home or lists a Matter 1.4, 1.5 or 1.6 device type.

Alexa

Amazon's developer What's New lists Matter 1.2 (June 2024), 1.3 (August 2024), 1.4 (August 2025) and 1.5 (March 2026) support on Matter-enabled Echo devices. Amazon's Matter page says Echo devices support the Matter 1.5 SDK and "a subset of Matter 1.5 and lower device types," and lists the Matter device categories Alexa supports: Matter hubs, lighting and smart plugs, generic buttons, sensors, closure devices (door locks, window coverings), thermostats, fans, air purifiers, appliances (room air conditioners, dishwashers), and robotic vacuums. Amazon's Works with Alexa developer requirements add that a product must support the Matter 1.5 specifications or lower to qualify for Works with Alexa certification. Amazon's pages don't mention Matter 1.6.

SmartThings

Samsung's 2026-10-06 announcement says SmartThings added support for Matter 1.6, "enhancing stability and Group Control performance," and four new device categories: energy meters, closures, irrigation devices, and soil sensors. The announcement doesn't say which Matter 1.6 features SmartThings uses, or which hubs get them. For which device types pair on SmartThings today, see our SmartThings Matter guide.

Home Assistant

The Home Assistant blog (2026-06-23) says the Matter Server app 9.0 runs on matter.js and upgrades to the Matter 1.5.1 specification ("1.6 coming soon!"), to better support new device types such as cameras, doorbells and closures. The Matter Server app changelog for 9.1.0 (committed 2026-07-15) says "Supports Matter 1.6.0." The 9.0.0 notes say to take a backup first and that the new server needs roughly twice the RAM. The changelog doesn't list which Matter 1.6 features Home Assistant exposes.

Matter version history: every release so far

Here's each Matter release with its date and headline additions, from the CSA's release posts (1.0 and 1.1 from the community-written Matter Handbook).

VersionReleasedWhat it addedSource
1.0November 2022Lighting, plugs, locks, thermostats, blinds, sensors, mediaMatter Handbook (community reference)
1.1May 2023Incremental improvements; Intermittently Connected Devices (ICD)CSA (1.2 post); Matter Handbook
1.22023-10-23Nine new device types: refrigerators, room air conditioners, dishwashers, laundry washers, robotic vacuums, smoke and CO alarms, air quality sensors, air purifiers, fansCSA
1.32024-05-08Energy reporting, EV charging, water management (leak and freeze detectors, rain sensors, water valves), microwave ovens, ovens, cooktops, extractor hoods, laundry dryers, scenesCSA
1.42024-11-07Enhanced Multi-Admin, Home Routers and Access Points, solar power, batteries, heat pumps, water heaters, mounted on/off and dimmable load controlsCSA
1.4.12025-05-07Setup: Enhanced Setup Flow, Multi-Device Setup QR code, Onboarding Info in NFC TagCSA
1.4.22025-08-11Wi-Fi-only commissioning, Vendor ID verification and other security features, certifiable scenes, Quieter ReportingCSA
1.52025-11-20Cameras, closures (including gates and garage doors), soil sensors, energy tariffs and pricing, TCP transportCSA
1.5.12026-03-31Camera multi-stream video and audio, HEIC snapshots, doorbell, chime and intercom refinementsCSA
1.62026-06-17Setup and multi-ecosystem refinements rather than new device categories: NFC-Based Commissioning, Joint Fabric, Thermostat Suggestions, security sensor event history, unmounted state for smoke and CO alarmsCSA

The CSA's 1.2 post said the Matter Working Group planned two releases per year. The community-written Matter Handbook explains that minor releases (1.4, 1.5, 1.6) add device types, clusters and protocol features, while patch releases (1.4.1, 1.5.1) mainly carry corrections and clarifications but may add smaller features.

What's new in Matter 1.6

The CSA's Matter 1.6 post (2026-06-17) says that rather than expanding into new device categories, 1.6 enhances device setup, multi-ecosystem coordination, and how devices respond to control inputs. Here's what it adds:

The CSA says the path from specification to products varies by company and product type, and that consumers can look to their favorite brands and ecosystems for news on when and how new capabilities arrive. If you're curious how multi-ecosystem sharing works in practice, see our guide to Matter multi-admin and device sharing.

What Matter 1.5 and 1.5.1 added

The CSA's Matter 1.5 post (2025-11-20) says 1.5 marks the next major functional expansion of the standard, following the quality-focused 1.4.1 and 1.4.2 updates. The headline addition is cameras: Matter cameras support live video and audio streaming using WebRTC, two-way communication, local and remote access via STUN and TURN protocols, multi-stream configurations, pan-tilt-zoom controls, detection and privacy zones, and continuous or event-based recording to local or cloud destinations. The release also introduces a unified approach to closures — covering window shades, drapes, awnings, gates and garage doors through a simplified, modular cluster design. Soil sensors measure moisture and optionally temperature, and can combine with Matter water valves or irrigation systems for automated watering.

On the energy side, Matter 1.5 adds standardized exchange of energy pricing, tariffs and grid carbon intensity, plus a new electrical energy tariff device type. EV charging gains certifiable state-of-charge reporting and bi-directional charging. Matter 1.5 also adds full support for TCP transport for large data sets, which the CSA says helps cameras and also use cases such as faster firmware updates and richer data types like images. The 1.5 specification, SDK and test tools went to Alliance Members.

Matter 1.5.1 (2026-03-31) is an incremental update focused on cameras and doorbells: multi-stream video and audio delivery, HEIC snapshots, HLS and DASH upload with CMAF Interface-2, pan-tilt-zoom refinements, doorbell fixes, chimes that can play a specific sound, and intercom clarifications. Platform support varies: SmartThings lists closures and soil sensors in its Matter 1.6 update, Home Assistant's 1.5.1 upgrade is aimed at cameras, doorbells and closures, and Google's developer table lists no camera, closure or soil sensor device type. See our guides on Matter camera and doorbell support, Matter blinds and shades support, and Matter firmware updates.

Matter 1.4, 1.4.1 and 1.4.2

The CSA's Matter 1.4 post (2024-11-07) introduced Enhanced Multi-Admin, which lets existing and new devices connect to multiple ecosystems automatically with single user consent — the CSA calls it an optional experience that developers can implement in different ways. It also added Home Routers and Access Points that combine a Wi-Fi access point and a Thread Border Router, and the CSA notes the 1.4 version numbers of Matter and Thread are coincidental and unrelated. New energy device types include solar panels, batteries, heat pumps and water heaters, plus mounted on/off and dimmable load controls for in-wall devices.

Matter 1.4.1 (2025-05-07) focused on setup: Enhanced Setup Flow (terms and conditions shown in the commissioner app), Multi-Device Setup QR codes for multi-packs, and Onboarding Info in NFC Tag as an alternative to QR codes.

Matter 1.4.2 (2025-08-11) added Wi-Fi-only commissioning without Bluetooth LE — which also lets existing Wi-Fi-only products adopt Matter through a firmware update, though the CSA says it will take time for commissioners to support it. It also added Vendor ID verification, certifiable scenes, Quieter Reporting, and standardized node reconfiguration. The CSA says 1.4.2 keeps full backward compatibility, but many enhancements need coordinated support between device makers and platforms. See our guide to Matter hubs and Thread Border Routers.

Which Matter version added your device type?

The table below shows the 24 device types MatterCheck tracks, the Matter version that added each, and whether each platform pairs it.

Device typeAdded in MatterApple Home pairsGoogle Home pairsAlexa pairsSmartThings pairsHome Assistant pairs
Color temperature (tunable white) light1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Contact sensor1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Dimmable / color light1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Door lock1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Light / illuminance sensor1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Motion / occupancy sensor1.0YesYesYesYesYes
On/off light1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Plug / outlet1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Pressure sensor1.0NoYesNoYesYes
Pump1.0NoYesNoYesYes
Speaker1.0NoYesNoYesYes
Switch / button1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Temperature / humidity sensor1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Thermostat1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Window covering1.0YesYesYesYesYes
Air quality sensor1.2YesYesYesYesYes
Appliances1.2PartialPartialPartialYesYes
Fan / air purifier1.2YesYesYesYesYes
Robot vacuum1.2YesYesYesYesYes
Smoke / CO detector1.2YesYesYesYesYes
Electric energy meter1.3PartialYesNoYesYes
Leak / water sensor1.3YesYesPartialYesYes
Water valve / shutoff1.3NoNoNoYesYes
Water heater1.4NoNoNoYesYes

The pattern: the newer the device type, the fewer platforms pair it in MatterCheck's checks. Across the 15 Matter 1.0 types, 69 of 75 type-and-platform combinations pair; for the 5 Matter 1.2 types it's 22 of 25; for the 3 Matter 1.3 types it's 9 of 15; and for the one Matter 1.4 type (water heater) it's 2 of 5. But age isn't everything — pump, speaker and pressure sensor are Matter 1.0 types that Apple Home and Alexa don't pair.

The Added in Matter column comes from the CSA's release posts for 1.2–1.4 types and from Google's developer table for 1.0 types. Google's table lists Fan as 1.0, while the CSA's 1.2 post says 1.2 made fans a separate, certifiable device type, so the table follows the CSA. For the full pairing matrix, see the MatterCheck matrix, and for a side-by-side platform view, see our Matter platform comparison.

Does your device need the same Matter version as your platform?

No page we checked says a device and a platform must be on the same Matter version, or explains how to see which Matter version a given device runs. The CSA says 1.4.2 maintains full backward compatibility, but many of its enhancements need coordinated support from both device makers and platforms — so a feature can be in the standard and still not show up in your app. Amazon's "subset" wording shows a newer version number doesn't mean every device type of that version works.

Apple's developer requirements for Adaptive Lighting show a feature can depend on both sides: the light must support Matter 1.4 and later, and the iPhone must run iOS 26 and later for it to be on by default. What you can do: check your device type on your platform (see our device type pages) rather than relying on a Matter version number alone, and look to your device maker and platform for news, as the CSA suggests. If a device isn't pairing, see our guide to Matter device pairing problems.

Frequently asked questions

What is the latest version of Matter?

The newest Matter release is 1.6, announced by the CSA on 2026-06-17. The CSA's specification download page also lists Matter 1.6.1 documents, with no date shown. The community-written Matter Handbook lists 1.6.0 as the latest version.

Does Apple Home support Matter 1.5?

No Apple page we checked names a Matter version for the Home app. Apple's developer documents mention Matter 1.4 (Adaptive Lighting, iOS 26) and the Matter 1.4.2 SDK for makers, but nothing about Matter 1.5 support in the Home app.

Does Google Home support Matter 1.5?

No Google page we checked names a Matter version for Google Home. Google's developer table lists device types from Matter 1.0, 1.2 and 1.3 only, with no Matter 1.4, 1.5 or 1.6 device type — no water heater, camera, closure or soil sensor row.

Does Home Assistant support Matter 1.6?

Home Assistant's Matter Server app says so: its changelog for version 9.1.0 says "Supports Matter 1.6.0." The changelog doesn't list which Matter 1.6 features Home Assistant exposes, and the 9.0.0 notes recommend taking a backup before updating.

Does Alexa support Matter 1.6?

Amazon's pages don't mention Matter 1.6. Amazon's developer What's New lists Matter 1.5 support from March 2026, and Amazon's Matter page says Echo devices support the Matter 1.5 SDK and "a subset of Matter 1.5 and lower device types."

What's the difference between Matter 1.4 and Matter 1.5?

Matter 1.4 (November 2024) added Enhanced Multi-Admin, Home Routers and Access Points, energy device types (solar, batteries, heat pumps, water heaters), and mounted load controls. Matter 1.5 (November 2025) added cameras, closures, soil sensors, energy tariffs and carbon intensity data, EV charging enhancements, and TCP transport for large data.

When will my devices get Matter 1.6 features?

The CSA says the path from specification to products varies by company and product type, and makers and ecosystems implement features on their own timelines. It says consumers can look to their favorite brands and ecosystems for news on when and how these capabilities will become available, and none of the five platforms' pages we checked gives a date for Matter 1.6 features.

More MatterCheck guides

How we checked

Pages fetched 2026-10-19 — the CSA's release posts for Matter 1.2 to 1.6 and its specification download page, the community-written Matter Handbook's release history, Apple's developer Matter page, support page 102135 and two developer PDFs, Google's developer supported-device table (updated 2026-10-08) and Prepare-for-Matter help page, Amazon's developer What's New, Matter and Works with Alexa pages, Samsung's 2026-10-06 announcement, and the Home Assistant blog (2026-06-23) and Matter Server app changelog. Device-type pairing values come from MatterCheck's own checks. A platform naming a Matter version doesn't mean every feature of that version is available. See our methodology for details.

Last reviewed 2026-10-19. Platforms add Matter versions on their own schedules; if a version or device type here looks out of date, check the platform's page linked above.